top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAkshi Chadha

Why English and Writing: ITR Series (Part I)

Updated: Aug 12, 2021

To pursue or not to pursue, that is the question—in life and in university. This mini blog series is for those of us who are on the verge of making the tough decision to choose a program to pursue at university. Personally, at The Coterie, we love the department of English and Writing Studies (no, we are not at all biased). So we thought it might be useful to share our experiences in the programwhy we made the decision to stay and why we love it—with those who are on the verge of filling out their Intent to Register for the first time or might just be considering switching programs.


But first, what's Intent to Register? I'm glad you asked. This is the definition up on the Arts and Humanities Academic Counselling website:


If you are in 1st Year and you plan to return to Western in the Fall, you need to fill out an Intent to Register (ITR) online through the Student Center. If you are a senior student and intend to add a module, drop a module, or make a change to a module change, you also need to complete an Intent to Register form. By completing your ITR online, you are letting Western know that you are returning, and the program that you plan to take next year. If you do not do this, you will not be able to register for courses.


As you move into your second year (or are switching programs), you will have to declare a module that you intend to pursue (and your future courses will be structured around it accordingly). ITR takes two seconds to complete if you know the program you want to choose. But if you are undecided, it might help to talk to professors, academic counsellors, or students in the program. You will need to complete your Intent to Register by March 31st (here's a step-by-step guide on how to fill out Intent to Register through the student centre).


Now that that's out of the way, read on to find out what our members have to say about the amazing English and Writing Studies Program at Western:



"As a first-year student at Western, I have had nothing but positive experiences with Western’s English and Writing Studies department. I am currently enrolled in both English 1022 and Writing 1000, and they are honestly my two favourite classes that I’ve taken so far. If I had any doubts about pursuing a degree in English, they have evaporated after my wonderful experience this year. The discussions we have in our English tutorials have been some of my favourite school hours. I am also very excited about the course offerings that will be offered as part of my degree for later years. As a student interested in pursuing law, I have no doubt that I will gain the skills in communication, critical thinking, reading comprehension, and argument construction that I will need to succeed. There are also some clubs and opportunities that I have already experienced. As a member of both The Coterie and Beyond the Books, I have had the chance to engage with a community of students with similar academic interests. I think that this is particularly important for humanities students, as we are the smallest faculty on campus. I would also highly recommend submitting work to one of the many literary magazines on campus, I have a poem being published in the next issue of Symposium and am so excited to feel like a part of the community of writers on campus. Overall, studying English and Writing has made me a better version of myself. Not only is it preparing me for my future, but it is shaping my present in terms of how I perceive the world around me, communicate, and reflect on the very essence of what it means to be human."

-Abby Robitaille, Events Coordinator

(Double Major in English and SASAH, Scholar's Electives Module)

"In my first year at Western, I was indecisive about what program to pursue. I had many interests tugging me in different directions and was considering everything from English and Philosophy to Physics. My Intent to Register snuck up on me and I finally had to make up my mind. English had always been one of my favourite subjects in school, but English 1022E was the most challenging course I was taking. Ultimately, I decided to lean into the challenge as I knew it presented me with the opportunity to improve and grow. Now in my fourth year completing a double major in English and SASAH with a philosophy minor, I am so happy with my decision. English has taught me writing and analysis skills as well as greater empathy and insight into humanity. Along the way, I have also had the chance to learn a little more about global cultures, witchcraft, feminist studies, and many other interests through literature. As I approach graduation, I am so grateful for my time in the English department and all the great courses, enriching experiences, and vibrant memories I have gained."


-Britney Forget, VP Academics

(Double major in English and SASAH with a Philosophy Minor)



"The study of English literature is valuable for an infinite number of reasons, but one of the most culturally relevant is its capacity to produce empathy. Each of our perspectives is gravely limited to what we know from our own experiences, environments, and influences but literature allows us to step foot into other people’s realities. The more we are able to critically explore other perspectives, the more compassion and empathy we will have towards people who are different from ourselves. Studying literature ingrains the message that all experiences are valid and everyone – not just those who fit our societal moulds – has a voice that deserves to be heard.


Literature is not studied through only one perspective, either. English students are taught to read with the lens of different theories and interpret a text through various principles, such as feminist theory or critical race theory. Learning to read through these lenses invites a wide range of particular interpretations that the reader can switch on and off. English studies teach students how to read critically and analytically, providing pathways of interpretation through various lenses that the everyday reader may not know how to access.


While the everyday reader is able to understand truths from a work of non-fiction, the skilled, trained reader, is able to extrapolate and analyze truths from fiction or poetry. The truths revealed in fiction are, at times, more deeply a part of the human experience than anything communicated through non-fiction. It is the human experience conveyed through literature that relates us all; the subtext that threads underneath each of our unique lives. It is in this way that the study of English literature produces a human empathy that is not implicitly taught in other disciplines."

-Faith Caswell, Events Coordinator

(Hons. Specialization English with a History Minor)


146 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page