top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAkshi Chadha

How to 'Online Student': From Our Fourth-Year Members

Updated: Aug 12, 2021

For most of us, November is a month full of sighs as the essays continue to pile up and the final exams appear much closer. Our fourth-year members have thus compiled their tried and tested study/essay tips (and some general advice for academic success) to help navigate November, finals season, and the ubiquitous English scholar life!


"So all final essays are nearing at this point and we are all collectively freaking out. Firstly, I hope you are taking care, eating/sleeping well, and getting accommodation if needed. Secondly, if you are diving into essay/final exam season headfirst, here is some writing advice that often helps me whenever I might find myself in a slump. I hope it helps!


1. Read More

I am often amazed to see the difference between the things that I was writing in first-year versus the things that I am writing right now (it's an embarrassing difference, tbh). While a lot of this improvement can be attributed to practice, an equal amount is credited to reading (lots of reading!). It doesn't matter if you're a creative or an essay writer--read everything from poems to JSTOR articles. When you see published and professional writing, your brain becomes more attuned to the nuanced and persuasive language and style which you then almost subconsciously bring to your own work. So read as much as you can and see your ideas and writing improve with it!


2. Write More

To extend the point above, writing is a practice. One of the best pieces of advice I've received in one of my writing classes is that writing has very little to do with talent--it's mostly practice and discipline. While I myself still struggle with the discipline part of it, I can definitely attest to the power of practice when it comes to writing (re: the embarrassing difference between my first-year projects versus the last thing I wrote). So make writing a practice. The more you write, the more you are acquainted with the language and the more you are acquainted with the language, the better the command you exercise over your words!


3. The Nebulous Thesis

This is for my first-year self (and other people who might be new to university writing). I wish I could define what exactly a thesis is for you (I should be able to as a fourth-year) but my best answer is: it depends on what you are arguing. A thesis at its most basic is an argument. It can be summed up in a sentence or a few. It can be an extension or refutation of some other scholar's argument, it can be an analytical statement about language and its implications in a text, or it can be studying a text in relation to a theoretical idea. Whatever it might be, it should be your own take (and you will have one, I am positive). To come up with a thesis (I can only offer advice for English classes), it's best to ask yourself what you responded to the most as a reader. Once you can pinpoint that, you have something to build on. When I struggle to come up with a thesis, I usually start with one striking instance in a text that stayed with me and then skim the text again to find a pattern (this is just one approach). You can use this as a starting point for your draft because your essay will develop as you get into your draft and get to examine the evidence more intimately. I also almost always run my ideas by my professors or the T.A. to be sure that I am headed in the right direction!


4. Proofread like a Pro

Drafts are meant to be ugly. It's important to realize and accept that to be able to get ourselves to write. All writers have to get their incoherent thoughts on the page--as an outline or a full draft--to be able to make sense of them. So start your paper with the proofreading in mind. I generally like to have a draft of my paper at least three days before the due date so I can spend some actual time with it. Proofreading is hard if done right. It's not simply editing for grammar. It's finding loopholes and incongruities in your argument/evidence and flaws in your rhetoric and then fixing those. The only secret to proofreading like a pro is time (and reading, see above). The more time you spend editing your draft the better your essay will be. Also, read everything you write out loud (I sometimes even do it with professional emails). It will help work out any stylistic issues and hiccups."

- Akshi Chadha, President



"When I started my time at Western nearly four years ago, I was completely lost concerning how to handle a university-level workload. I quickly fell behind on my readings, got a 51% on my first two essays, didn’t even know that OWL existed and had to ask complete strangers in class what it even was, and even heavily considered dropping out or taking a year off because of how out of place I felt!

Thankfully, I’m here to tell you that everyone goes through this and this feeling does absolutely NOT last forever. I quickly found my footing, and since those tough first few months, I’ve definitely turned my academic life around! Here are my tips on how you can also achieve this!


1. Do your readings and actually go to class

This seems to be the biggest pitfall that many students face. However, it’s important that doing it becomes your number one priority. Without having any of your readings done, you’ll have no idea what’s even going on in the lecture. This makes it a lot less engaging and very difficult to understand. I also can’t stress enough how important going to class actually is. Even if your professor uploads lecture slides to OWL, just reading them is never enough, especially for an English class where the in-person back and forth discussion is so essential. Plus, if you have any questions that need to be cleared up, you can easily ask them here!


2. Go to office hours

Office hours are probably the biggest, most helpful resource that is often ignored by most students. I think that this might be because a lot of students are scared that they’re annoying their professors, but this couldn’t be farther from the truth! From what I’ve gathered, most of them love to have meaningful conversations with the students who drop in. By attending office hours, you can get valuable one-on-one time for help on assignments or understanding a concept that you didn’t quite get in class. It also shows your commitment to the course. In my first year, I had a French class that I found super difficult, so I went to office hours literally every week for help with the homework. I honestly think that this had a positive impact on my final grade, as even though I was still super bad at speaking the language by the end of the course (French isn’t my strong suit), my professor could see that I had at least put the effort in. Not to mention, if you happen to need a reference letter for anything in the future, you’ll have professors that actually personally know you and can give a strong recommendation on your behalf.


3. Start your assignments early

My final tip is to never, ever start your assignments last minute, especially the night before the due date. My general rule of thumb is to start them around two weeks before the due date so that I have a lot of time to perfect it and don’t need to rush myself, and can also double-check with my professor during office hours that I’m headed on the right path. Using a calendar and agenda helps a lot with this aspect. I understand that sometimes this can’t be avoided, so at the very least try to prioritize your assignments that are larger and worth more. And don’t be afraid to ask for an extension! Many professors are more than willing to give them as long as you have a valid reason behind it. Also, if you find that you’re having more long-term issues, you can request Academic Accommodation through Student Services. Don’t be ashamed about using it, as these resources exist for a reason!"

-Elizabeth Casciaro, VP Events



"The biggest thing I’ve learned about essay writing is that everyone does it differently. We were all given formulas for how to structure and write essays in high school, but university is the time to throw out the rules and experiment. For some people, an outline is a crucial first step to their essay process. Personally, I brainstorm an idea then jump right into writing. Once I get all of my points out, I can organize them into arguments, re-evaluate my original thesis, and edit my writing into an essay. Every essay comes together differently, but they always come together in the end. There is no right or wrong process, only what works best for you.


Regardless of how you write your essay, it is important to first read your primary source thoroughly and take detailed notes that include page numbers. Jot down significant quotes and any ideas you have as you read – you might work these into arguments later. When it’s time to write your essay, you can review your notes and identify the themes you found most interesting. I use blank paper and pen to put my ideas together and construct an argument. If you get stuck or want to bounce your idea off of someone, send an email to your professor/TA or set up a time to chat during office hours. Coming up with a good idea is the hardest part. Once you have that, you will find in your notes plenty of source material from which to construct an essay. "

-Britney Forget, VP Academics



"1. Don’t compare yourself to other people! Your path is uniquely your own

I know it feels really intimidating when you look at other people’s plates, and they seem like they’re doing a lot more than you. You may feel like you’re falling behind, but that’s not really the case at all. It’s difficult to manage both school and extracurriculars. You’ll probably do better in both when you choose to participate in a few things per year that you actually enjoy, and can help you with your future career. Just don’t do things for the sake of adding more lines on your resume, because it’s easy to burn out.


2. Come up with a study plan

Most of the studying you do in university is on your own. Allocating a certain time throughout the week to work on a class and setting deadlines for yourself helps a lot!


3. Don’t take 8 am classes

This one’s self-explanatory. I’d say even 9 am classes if you can avoid it.


4. Reach out to your professors

You might be used to high school teachers telling you that your professors couldn’t care less about how you do in their class, but I’ve had the complete opposite experience! Most professors I’ve reached out to in the Arts and Humanities faculty have been kind and understanding. If you’re going through a rough patch, and you need extra help or an extension, it’s safe to communicate this with your professors.


5. Enroll in the Arts and Humanities Internship program

This is a fairly new program for arts students and it’s also a pretty great one! With this opportunity, you can get credit as an intern while still being a student. When I was in the program last year, I was a marketing intern at Forest City Film Festival. This was a great experience for me because I gained more skills in a field that I’m passionate about. I highly encourage future students to apply for the program as well!"

-Isabella Elias, Publications Manager





129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page